Red Spider Lily : Higanbana


Red Spider Lily : Higan-Bana

Originally uploaded by scyllarides

I went looking for the illusive Higan-bana in my yard this afternoon and was greeted by hordes of mosquitoes. I gave up quickly. If they were there, I would have seen them. As it is, my yard is overgrown due to lack of attention and today, I didn’t want to spray myself from head to toe with repellent (that’s one of the reasons for my inattention). It would’ve been an exercise in frustration. However all of that is, tomorrow is O-Higan.

Wikipedia says that it’s a Japanese Buddhist holiday that occurs during the equinoxes and that there are some observances that take place in the temples. What I find so attractive is the flower that blooms around this same time called the Higanbana, the Red Spider Lily. In recent years, mine have surprised me by their sudden appearance. Maybe I shouldn’t be looking for them.

Thank you, scyllarides, for taking such a wonderful image and sharing it.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Red Spider Lily : Higanbana”

  1. whereishenow Says:

    i did not know that it is called “red spider lily” once again, thanks for the information. They are blooming all around the neighborhood. Yesterday was the national holiday, I have never attended any special events, but I am looking forward to some change in the weather.

  2. sofennell Says:

    They are beautiful aren’t they? Wouldn’t it be great if they planted flowers all over our cities that came up like that (spontaneously, as if in the wild and in their seasons).

Leave a Reply

