School house blues

I had plans for my protected workdays at school this week. I idealized the week with all kinds of accomplishments. My plans were dashed by long and (to me) irrelevant meetings. Eventually, I was productive, but by the end of the week my heart was not in it at all. I wanted out. I was frustrated, disgusted, disappointed, depressed, tired and angry. I decompressed today by not going in and getting ready for a shibori demo at Artspace on Saturday, editing video, catching up with the Satsuma princess, Atsuhime, then watching a favorite asadora (morning drama/soap opera), Hitomi, later in the day. I feel a lot saner.

Tags:

2 Responses to “School house blues”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    ahhh. glad you are feeling a bit recovered. what you are describing is exactly what keeps me at the volunteer level of teaching art (no meetings, but no pay either!). you are made of sterner stuff that allows you to get through those meetings and move on to your real work.
    i feel better knowing you are up to the challenge!
    perhaps a visit to spirit cloth today would be advised- a good discussion going on there.

  2. sofennell Says:

    I’m definitely visiting spirit cloth! Thank you so much for those kind words, Glennis!

Leave a Reply

