O’Donnell & Hotaru no Haka

After watching the brilliant opening to the Olympics on Friday night, NHK had a program on Joe O’Donnell, photographer of the aftermath of the Nagasaki bombing. His story was told from the perspective of his son and showed some of his father’s photographs. I was amazed to see that one of the hibakusha whose back had been badly burned (and documented in O’Donnell’s collection) was still living. Even today he continues to undergo surgery for those burns.

I also finally watched Hotaru no Haka (火垂の墓) Grave of the Fireflies, another Studio Ghibli production that gently tells a story of two orphans struggling to survive in the wake of the atomic bomb. I haven’t used it in class previously, but I’m strongly inclined to do so this year.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “O’Donnell & Hotaru no Haka”

  1. whereishenow Says:

    oh that is a good movie. and so sad. so painful, and so beautiful to watch. I wish I had seen that NHK show about Nagasaki.

    Have you read barefoot gen?? I bought the first two (in English) and I have read a bit of the Japanese ones…. there was a movie, too. Not anime, but real actors.

  2. sofennell Says:

    About Barefoot Gen, I’ve heard of it, so today I researched it (okagesama de…) and found some anime excerpts on YouTube. It’s much more graphic than “Fireflies” and don’t think I could or would use it in the classroom. “Fireflies” is probably plenty adequate in that situation.

  3. whereishenow Says:

    the barefoot gen that I saw on t.v. was not anime. It was a movie with real actors. The book is comic/manga….. and I am not sure if I like it or not…. however the movie was quite powerful and my 3 kids enjoyed it…but they really felt sad and pain watching it. Hotaru would be an excellent choice for the classroom…

  4. sofennell Says:

    So, was movie shown on US tv or in Japan? I haven’t had the chance to look for it, but I noticed Netflix has the anime version. I may have to watch it.

Leave a Reply

