Chinese Butterfly


Butterfly

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Most of this weekend was spent with indigo again. I wanted to play and experiment this time and I think I got a good start. One pattern that’s intrigued me for some time is the Chinese butterfly. Karren Brito gives very clear instruction in her Entwinements tutorial. I’ve attempted these several times without much success. A video on the topic on Magic of Light, Mystery of Shadows convinces me that I’ve got miles to go.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Chinese Butterfly”

  1. Morna Crites-Moore Says:

    I love your blog so much. I love BLUE. I’ve never done anything remotely like shibori, but maybe in the future. I’d like to try it, but I am so “full plate” as it is. Are you familiar with a book titled “Blue: the history of a color.” Here is a link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Blue-History-Color-Michel-Pastoureau/dp/0691090505/ref=pd_bbs_3?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1217714414&sr=1-3

  2. sofennell Says:

    Thank you so much for the compliment! I really appreciate it. I love blue too, obviously. To answer your question, the book you are referring to is in my library. I love the images and I also enjoy art history.

Leave a Reply

