Art Speaks Japanese


I am about one month away from starting class again. That means I’m in my midsummer. I’ve accomplished a few things on my “list” but it’s time to start thinking about the academic ones as well. My department chair also asked me to think about a few things which involves (if I’m smart) some writing. If I do it early it’ll help in developing my goals for the new school year.

I’ve recently found a curriculum developed in New South Wales with the Japan Foundation, called Art Speaks Japanese. It seems a refreshing perspective from the usual. I really want to bring more of the arts into the classroom and this seems like a good way to do it. It uses images from the Art Gallery of NSW but they are broad enough in topic that students could find similar images on-line or elsewhere if they wanted. It’s always an experiment and it seems we never have enough time to teach what is needed. It goes far too quickly.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Art Speaks Japanese”

  1. bam Says:

    found it strange you found a curriculum from New south Wales – were there none from USA?
    i came across your website while searcing for grotesque shibori – which i’d seen at ISS 2005 Tokyo.
    i’m wondering if you know of http://www.shibori.org and whether you havebeen to any shibori symposiums
    bam

  2. sofennell Says:

    Hm. Well, not so strange if you were a teacher of Japanese language looking for good teaching material and something unique. Australia’s Japan Foundation has very good resources in my opinion.

    To answer your other question, I am very familiar with www. shibori.org but haven’t been to any of the symposiums. I’d love to sometime!

Leave a Reply

