Cocoons


Cocoons

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

I came home from school with a small box of silk cocoons today. They’ll hatch soon and lay eggs. So, the cycle begins again. My main concern right now, it next spring. Those silkworms will need feeding and I have no mulberry trees nearby as far as I know. So, that’s a problem I need to solve, soon I hope.

In the meantime, there are small bodies inside these cocoons. I don’t know what their shapes are, but I can feel the form when I hold them. Are they still worms or are they already moths?

Then again, I was just asked, “What exactly is your end game, mother?” Good question. My answer is to harvest the silk and see what I can do with it. I could learn to spin it, or I could use it as roving. We’ll see what happens.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

