Book binding


Cover

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

School is still in session, relatively. Students are taking exams but I finished mine last week. Exams have been graded and tomorrow everything will be delivered to school. Although, there still is that self assessment hanging over my head. That won’t take long to complete. Essentially, I’m finished with my duties except that I need to organize and store a few items over the summer. I’m only thinking ahead to my summer plans, which is mostly to spend it in my studio, such as it is.

My studio is my home. I work all over it. I may sew in one room, dye in my garage or outdoors, sketch and stencil in another. It just depends on what has to be done. However all of it works doesn’t really matter at this point, as long as I can do it. I’ve been looking forward to this uninterrupted time for quite some time now. I’ve got a long list of things I want to do and the two months I have off will fly.

One thing on my list is to complete this project. I still need to make two more books. Along this line, I want to experiment with some different forms of handmade books including some that my students might want to make for themselves. Apart from giving them something beyond the poster (it’s far more portable), they’re working with their hands.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

