Rain

Today felt like this Hiroshige print. It poured rain for most of the day and the temperatures dropped from the low 80’s to the high 60’s. I stayed in. I knew it was coming, so yesterday, I spent most of my afternoon in the backyard clearing space for the grape tomato plants I’d bought at the NC Farmer’s Market last weekend. I also bought basil, Japanese eggplant and Roma tomato plants. If the squirrels, rabbits and birds don’t get them, I have something to look forward to this summer.

The neighbor behind me has left a nice buffer between our properties which is wonderful. We are not too close and I like the wild area between us which is mostly Pine and wild Dogwood. There is a downside though, his wild honeysuckle vines and grape ivy creep into my yard and I fight them every year. It’s almost like fighting kudzu the stuff is so aggressive. Then again, my other neighbor’s English ivy is taking over from another direction.

Another thing I can do without are the snakes. We get copperheads from time to time. In the past we’ve had little garden snakes and I leave them alone, but last year a copperhead came to visit and that unnerved me for the longest time. This is another reason why I need to do some clearing.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

