V. E. Pyles

My great uncle on my mother’s side was an artist. He has been the subject of many conversations off and on with my mother, sometimes with her brother (my only uncle) and now with my cousins. I’m not often in contact with them as I never really knew them when I was younger. Living overseas separated us and they were a lot younger. Our common interest in family history though, keeps bringing us together, at least by e-mail. We are particularly intrigued with our great-uncle Virgil. None of us knew him of course. However, he was still living when I was born and there is a record of a gift in my baby book. He died in 1963, and I had ample opportunity to meet him when I was younger. I don’t know why our paths never crossed. He was living in New York and surely a trip could have been made.

I have some of his paintings and have just acquired a magazine with a cover illustrated by him(the above is not that particular one). He was an illustrator, mostly illustrating pulp fiction. I’ve just learned that he studied at the Art Students League in New York and also at the Art Institute in Chicago. Somewhere, I have an old photo album with pictures he took. I think it’s high time I took them out.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “V. E. Pyles”

  1. Nicky Brown Says:

    I am interested in speaking with you about your great-uncle. He illustrated a story written by my grandfather. Would you be kind enough to get in touch with me through my email. Thanks, Nicky

  2. Phillip Jackson Says:

    I came across Virgil Pyles while researching family genealogy. He was my 1st cousin 3 times removed, the nephew of my 2nd Great Grandmother Mary Evans Tharp.
    I’d like to know more about him and see any pictures of him and his illustrations. His WW II mentioned a gunshot wound of the jaw. Was he in WW I?
    Thanks, Phillip

  3. David Saunders Says:

    I am composing a website with brief biographical pages on artists who worked for pulp magazines, and I have a web-page for V. E. Pyles. I hope you have a chance to visit the page…

    http://www.pulpartists.com/Pyles.html

    Please contact me to add any improvements, clarifications, and corrections to make his web page better. You can contact me through the contact page at http://www.pulpartists.com. I would love to add a photo of the artist, so do please get out your family photo album and make a scans to share with the world of his fans! Best wishes,

    David Saunders

  4. darla Says:

    I just purchased one of his paintings at a flea market here in Ohio. It’s an oil painting of two football players in 1930s style football gear.

  5. David Saunders Says:

    I have assembled a rather thorough checklist of V E PYles published illustrations, so I may be able to identify the exact publication title and date, so please send me a copy of this new painting you found of two football players. — Best wishes,
    David Saunders

  6. Darla Says:

    Wow, thanks for the quick reply. I will send you a picture ASAP.
    thanks,
    Darla

Leave a Reply

