Japanese Stab Binding


towels

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

This weekend some of my time went into a book making workshop held at Gallery Shibui, one of my favorite haunts in Raleigh. Once I’m there, I can’t leave. The shop has so many things Japanese. But, this weekend, I joined with a few friends, to learn Japanese Stab Binding. Alice set us up at a table in the back of her shop where we were surrounded with wonderful papers and supplies for bookmaking. In the first 3 hours on Friday, we mostly completed our books. Yesterday, I did the stab binding and worked on the cover which would hold 3 small books. I only managed one this weekend, but I’d like to fill that cover with a couple more in the near future. I love the process, the tools and of course the results. No pictures of my book yet, but soon.

I should also add that Alice took very good care of us while we worked. Kathy Steinsberger was our instructor and she was very thorough and patient. I also enjoyed being a student as a opposed to sensei for a change.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

